What is your ministry worth to you?


As Christians we are called to minister at some point in time, and in some way or another. The question is: How far would you go to fulfill that calling?
Whether you minister to your family, (saved or unsaved), through your job, (any job can be considered a ministry), or to people you don’t even know, you are called to minister.
For instance, Andy and I are called to minister through music.
Even Jesus was called to minister. He ministered through His miracles, teachings, and healings. He also ministered through His death and resurrection.

There are times in ministry when we’ve reached a valley. We may get discouraged, angry, or frustrated.
These are the times when I try to think about how Jesus must have felt in the Garden of Gethsemane. He knew the perfect Will of His father was for Him to die to save the world from their sins. And yet, He still felt agony and despair.
In Mark 14:34, Jesus tells some of His disciples: “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death…” And then in verse 36 it reads: “Abba, Father,” he said, “Everything is possible for you. Take this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will.”
Notice in the second part of this verse, even in His agony Jesus acknowledged His father’s perfect will for His life. He was willing to submit, even unto death.

Now, I’m not saying that we will all die for our faith, but again I ask you, “What is your ministry worth to you?”
Will you accept the calling God has placed on your life, whatever it may be?

I pray that in reading this, you have been encouraged to know that God truly understands our struggles. He is with us in our ministry. Even in those valleys, when you’re discouraged, angry or frustrated.
Is there any way I could encourage you in your ministry? Is there anything I could take before the Lord in prayer? Would you like me to expand on this topic? Would you be interested in more devotional posts’?
Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

May God continue to richly bless you, and may you stand firm in the calling of the Lord!

Miranda – In Him

November 5, 2007. The Monday Meal.

2 Comments

  1. Jeroen replied:

    ‘How far would you go to fulfill the calling of ministry?’ Far. As far as needed for God. I hope the Lord can use me for 100%. The only barrier can be me: my egoism, my self-conceitedness, my sin, my …self.

    Your phrase ‘any job can be considered a ministry’ touches me. Currently I am working at my new and first job. I find it hard to involve God with what I am doing, and to worship Him (with my heart or in any way) while doing my work. I also doubt about my choice: is this the right place for me? It’s an IT-company. I can see a clear ministry for me: despite it’s quite hard to be focused on God during my work, I can be the difference. There aren’t many Christians working for this company and I see that –through me- Jesus affects the people around me. God is doing work through me and I pray He will continue doing that; He shows His power through my weakness.
    On the other hand I feel a longing inside of me to work for a Christian organization or company and/or even in ministry (being sent out; do you understand?). But what is Gods will for me? Of course I know my choice for my current job isn’t forever; I can choose to quit now. But then? Which way to go?

    So it’s quite a struggle. Is this the place God wants me to be or is it somewhere else? ‘God, please show me!’ Would you pray for me in this?
    Your post encourages me very much. If God gives you more words about this subject, please post them too. 🙂

    In Christ,

    Jeroen
    (from Holland)

  2. In Him replied:

    Hi Jeroen,
    We praise God that you found our ministry and blog, and that it is blessing you!
    That is awesome that God is allowing our ministry to touch you, and we will not let the culture differences hinder that at all!
    You are our friend and sibling in Christ, and we love you in Jesus’ name!
    Please keep a close eye on this blog, and be sure to check out our new devotional feature: “The Monday Meal”.
    We will pray that God shows His Will to you in a mighty way! Be comforted to know that we struggle with this, even though we know we are doing exactly what God has called us to! It can be hard when work is slow to non-existent.
    We do understand the ministry you are speaking of. If we understand you correctly, you feel called to the mission field?
    May God continue to richly bless you, wherever He leads you, and please continue to interact with us!

    Miranda – In Him

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

