Is Your Worship Simple enough for a Holy God?


One of our newer worship songs is called, “Holy”. This week on the Monday Meal, I wanted to share the insight behind this song.
If you’ve seen us live, you’ll know that we’re not a band of many high-tech uses. For instance, we don’t have light shows, I don’t fly over the crowd (I’d rather keep my feet firmly planted thank you)… And, Andy’s guitar won’t blind you. Lastly, we don’t have a drummer who spins around upside-down.
Now, don’t get me wrong. We’re not saying that people can’t be ministered to by bands who do these things, but that’s not what we’re about as a band.

As I sat down at my keyboard to practice one day, I started to sing the first verse of this song. At that moment, I was feeling unworthy and inadiquit for the call God has placed on my life. I was playing two chords and thinking, “Most of our songs have the same chords. This is too simple!” And then it hit me! That’s what we’re about. We’re about simple worship. In a culture that is so set on the high-tech advances, it’s been said that artists such as us bring a fresh yet simplistic approach to worship.
And as this revelation sunk in as to the fact that this is the way we should be as Christians, simple yet honest and open with our Holy Lord, I also realized that not only should our worship in song be simple, but our lives should also be acts of simple and true worship.
In the days of the first Christians, they didn’t have the light shows. Why would they need them when Jesus is the light of the world and the bright and morning star?
So, remember as you watch the light shows, the flying singers, and the spinning drummers, Jesus is watching your heart.
May you pray daily for the Lord to make you worthy of Him, and may we all strive to be Holy like Him.
“But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.” (1 Peter 1:15-16 NIV)

August 26, 2008. The Monday Meal.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

