Are you ashamed of your name?


Hi,
As I began planning our summer tour a few weeks ago, I was calling various venues to ask general information. I called one place and told the gentleman who answered the phone that my name was Miranda and that I was with In Him. I explained a little about who we are, and he then asked for my last name. I stated to him that I didn’t feel as though I had to give my last name just to receive general information from him. He then responded by asking me, “What? Are you ashamed of your last name?” I of course told him no. He then said that business requires to know all business and that includes your last name. Finally, he wished me a good day and hung up.
After getting over my initial shock, I began to think, “As Christians how many times do we shy away from saying that we’re followers of Christ for whatever reason? And, when we choose not to say we’re Christians, why do we make that choice? Are we ashamed of our name?”

I don’t want to elaborate too much on this subject by myself, because I’d like for you to think about my initial thoughts and add your own in the comments section. So, let the discussion begin!

Love,
Andy and Miranda – In Him

January 28, 2009. Faith.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

